GAJC – Glamorgan Archives Joint Committee

The Glamorgan Archives is administered by the Glamorgan Archives Joint Committee (GAJC), a Committee of councillors and co-opted members which meets four times a year. The Committee’s remit is to develop and run a joint archive service for the six local authorities of Bridgend, Caerphilly, Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf and the Vale of Glamorgan.

The number of elected members allocated to serve for each local authority is determined pro-rata to the population. The elected members serving on the committee are:

Bridgend County Borough Council

Bridgend County Borough Council

Councillor Jon-Paul Blundell

Councillor Elaine Winstanley

Caerphilly County Borough Council

Caerphilly Council

Councillor Carol Andrews


Councillor Julian Simmonds


City of Cardiff Council

The City of Cardiff Council

Councillor Margaret Lewis

Councillor Norma Mackie

Councillor Keith Jones


Councillor Adrian Robson

Councillor Jon Shimmin

Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

Merthyr Tydfil

Councillor Malcolm Colbran

Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

Rhondda Cynon Taf

Councillor Bob Harris

Councillor Gareth Jones

Councillor Wendy Lewis

Councillor Barry Stephens

Vale of Glamorgan County Borough Council

Vale of Glamorgan

Councillor Rhiannon Birch

Councillor Gwyn John BEM

Up to six persons with an interest in archives and records may be co-opted by the committee to make a contribution to the committee’s work.

At the quarterly committee meetings the Glamorgan Archivist presents a report which outlines the work carried out by the Office in all the key areas for the previous three months. It gives details of progress on public services, conservation, collection management and outreach and also includes a list of documents received into the Office during that period. You can access reports from April 2009 on the City of Cardiff Council website and from 2006 to March 2009 on the website of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council.

Report of the Glamorgan Archivist to the Glamorgan Archives Joint Committee (after March 2009)

© Glamorgan Archives - Website designed by Cardiff Council Web Team

Cookie policyPrivacy policy