GAJC – Glamorgan Archives Joint Committee

The Glamorgan Archives is administered by the Glamorgan Archives Joint Committee (GAJC), a Committee of councillors and co-opted members which meets four times a year. The Committee’s remit is to develop and run a joint archive service for the six local authorities of Bridgend, Caerphilly, Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf and the Vale of Glamorgan.

The number of elected members allocated to serve for each local authority is determined pro-rata to the population. The elected members serving on the committee for 2016-2017 are:

Bridgend County Borough Council

Bridgend County Borough Council

Councillor Norah Clarke
16 Kittiwake Close,
Porthcawl,
Bridgend,
CF36 3UU

E-mail: Cllr.Norah.Clarke@Bridgend.gov.uk

Councillor Charles Smith
El Roble,
1,Heol Fechan,
Llangewydd Court,
Bridgend,
CF31 4TW

E-mail: cabinetoffice@bridgend.gov.uk

Caerphilly County Borough Council

Caerphilly Council

Councillor Mrs Christine Forehead
Penallta House
Tredomen
Ystrad Mynach
CF82 7PG

Email:  christineforehead@caerphilly.gov.uk

County Borough Councillor A G Higgs
29 Duffryn Street
Aberbargoed
Bargoed
CF81 9ET

Email: alanhiggs@caerphilly.gov.uk

City of Cardiff Council

The City of Cardiff Council

Councillor Jayne Cowan
Brynlake,
174 Manor Way,
Rhiwbina,
Cardiff
CF14 1RN

Email: JCowan@cardiff.gov.uk

Councillor  Huw Thomas
19 Wilson Street
Splott
Cardiff
CF24 2NZ

Email: Huw.Thomas@Cardiff.gov.uk

Councillor Adrian Robson
Brynlake,
174 Manor Way,
Rhiwbina,
Cardiff
CF14 1RN

Email: Arobson@cardiff.gov.uk

Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

Merthyr Tydfil

County Borough Councillor Brian Mansbridge
32 Taff Vale Estate
Edwardsville
Treharris
CF46 5NJ

Email: Brian.mansbridge@merthyr.gov.uk

Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

Rhondda Cynon Taf

County Borough Councillor S Jones
62 Eleanor Street
Tonypandy
CF40 1DP
Email:- Sylvia.J.Jones@rctcbc.gov.uk

County Borough Councillor Margaret Griffiths
6 Llantrisant Road
Pontyclun
CF72 9DQ

Email: Margaret.Griffiths@rhondda-cynon-taff.gov.uk

County Borough Councillor Joy Rosser
136 Rhys Street
Trealaw
CF40 2QQ

Email: Joy.Rosser@rhondda-cynon-taff.gov.uk

County Borough Councillor Jane Ward
Eirianfa
Woodfield Terrace
Penrhiwceibere
Mountian Ash
CF45 3UT

Email: Jane.Ward@rhondda-cynon-taff.gov.uk

Vale of Glamorgan County Borough Council

Vale of Glamorgan

County Borough Councillor M.E.J Birch
10 Victoria Street
Penarth
CF64 3EJY

Email: jbirch@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk

County Borough Councillor Gwyn John
Ashgrove House,
High Street
Llantwit Major
CF61 1SS

E-Mail: gjohn@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk

Up to six persons with an interest in archives and records may be co-opted by the committee to make a contribution to the committee’s work.
For 2014-2015 the co-opted members are:

Mr Murray McLaggan, MA, JP

The Lord Lieutenant Mrs Kate Thomas CVO, JP

At the quarterly committee meetings the Glamorgan Archivist presents a report which outlines the work carried out by the Office in all the key areas for the previous three months. It gives details of progress on the new Glamorgan Archives public services, conservation, collection management and outreach and also includes a list of documents received into the Office during that period. You can access reports from April 2009 on the City of Cardiff Council website and from 2006 to March 2009 on the website of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council.

Report of the Glamorgan Archivist to the Glamorgan Archives Joint Committee (after March 2009)